Ready, Set, Go!

Yago was excited about his first day of school.  If you don’t believe me, see for yourself:

DSC_0311

"Patata!"

"Patata!"

On the way to school, I was taking music requests.  At first he asked for Tik-Tik-Tak from one of the Putumayo Kids CDs.  We LOVE those CDs!  Next, he asked for “crying baby”.  Somehow I realized that he was really asking for “Wheels on the Bus.” Don’t ask me how I deciphered that code.  We sang along happily all the way to school.

Yago was a little shy when his teacher came to extract him from the car.  When I picked him up at noon, yhough he had had a good morning!  (And his second day was upgraded to a “great morning” according to one of his teachers!) 

He is challenged in this classroom and I like that because it keeps him busy.  I am always excited to pick him up after lunch and find out what he did.  I wish he would tell me more about his day, but I guess that’s just payback.  My mom reminded me about my answers after school every day of my life:

How was school?  “Fine”

What did you do? “Nothing”

Did you ______? “No”

Did play with _____?  “No”

At least Yago answers more than “No” when prompted, but I seriously have to fish around and name the activities and students in his class.

I am sure there’s a way to extract more information out of my son.  I just haven’t it found it yet.

We are thrilled and couldn’t be happier with his new classroom!

1 Comment

Filed under school, Yago

One response to “Ready, Set, Go!

  1. Your boys are beautiful, Shab. I’m so glad Yago is happy at school now. You were wise to follow your intuition. Keep those photos coming!

Leave a Reply

