Traveling With Two (or why I’m not ready for a third)

Last Thursday we flew to Ontario, California on Southwest.  I was not worried at all about the fact that Santi would not be on the flight with me.  After all, I had my mom, dad, and cousin on the flight.  Reinforcements, right?  Wrong.  Not when we barely make it on the flight, and Yago and I barely get seats together (thanks again to the two kind souls who moved so that we could sit together!).  It worked out for them too because after take-off, 2 others moved so that they could sit together again.

I am not a big worrier.  Not really.  Ok maybe I am a little bit of a worrier.  Here are a few things I worried about on the plane:

1) Yago hadn’t gone to the bathroom since sometime at school (or at least I hoped he had gone at school!).  I picked him up at noon and we stopped at my parents’ house and headed straight to the airport.  Then straight to economy parking. Then straight through security.  Then straight onto the plane. Once or twice during the FOUR HOUR FLIGHT he did mention he needed to go, but either the line was too long or there was turbulance (and don’t forget I had an infant on my lap with no reinforcements within 6 rows!)  I worried about my poor kid’s bladder the entire flight and even asked him more than once if he wanted to put one of Daryoosh’s diapers on.  I also limited water intake to mere sips at a time.  It was after 8:00 Nashville time when we landed!  Yago was such a trooper and never complained or whined about going to the bathroom.

2) How was I going to keep Yago entertained?  Especially when 2 hours of entertainment went out the door off the bat.  Yes, it’s true.  I had forgotten to charge the DVD player’s battery.  20 minutes into Bolt our DVD player died.  Ugh.

3) No plane naps.  I worried about no napping on the plane since both boys fell asleep on the way to the airport.  Yes, they slept a combined 10 minutes.  (Daryoosh slept 10 minutes).

4) Daryoosh kept bouncing up and down and swinging his head back into my throat.  I worried that he was going to damage my trachea. Ok, I wasn’t really worried about this.  Just annoyed that he refused to sit still.

Oh yeah–and to add to it all, Yago would have been entertained for at least 30 minutes with my iPhone, which was in my dad’s pocket.  Seriously.

Fortunately, thanks to a trip to my new favorite store, the Learning Express I was well stocked with diversions.    Wikki Stix ,Sticky Mosaics, Travel Eye Spy, some magic paper, and two little wind-up toys were hiding in Yago’s backpack and were ready to keep a toddler entertained. During the (did I mention FOUR HOUR?) flight, we rotated through each activity multiple times.

In the end, everything turned out well, and although I was exhausted, I couldn’t have asked more of my two little guys.  They were active and exhausting but well-behaved.

Can I fast-forward to our return flight?

Santi was with us on the way home (thank goodness!).  Additionally, we had PLENTY of time and actually got to take advantage of our  “A” boarding passes this time.

I’ll set up the scene: Yago is sitting at the window with his Cares harness on.  Santi is sitting in the middle seat, and I am in the aisle with Daryoosh boucing happily in my lap.

Santi gets out his Kindle.

“You think you’re going to be reading on this flight?”

Santi stays quiet.

Plane takes off.

Yago falls asleep.

Daryoosh falls asleep.

Santi falls asleep.

Fast forward one hour.  Daryoosh wakes up, Santi and Yago sleep an additional 30 minutes.  Seriously.

Santi wakes up.  Yago is content to JUST SIT THERE for another 20 minutes.

“I don’t see any problem traveling with two,” he says.

“Bite me.”

But he still didn’t get to read. So there.

2 Comments

Filed under Family

2 responses to “Traveling With Two (or why I’m not ready for a third)

  1. Leanne

    Isn’t that always the case? Funny read! and welcome back!

  2. Thanks Leanne! We had fun, but it’s always nice to be back home.

Leave a Reply

