Crazy Day

I packed up the kids today and before heading out the door, made an appointment for Yago to get his head checked out.  We found a sore on his head that looked a little oozie (not sure when or how he hurt it and it was circular so I wanted to rule out ringworm since he had just gotten a haircut!).  So I packed up the boys, took Daryoosh to my mom’s house, pumped a few ounces in case he got hungry for some rice cereal, and then headed back toward my house to the Ped’s office.  (yes, the pediatrician is about 3 minutes away and I did consider taking Daryoosh with me but dropped him off in the end). I also wanted to show the doc Yago’s toe.  He hurt it last week in gymnastics class and refuses to stop kicking soccer balls so it won’t heal! Doc wasn’t too worried about either wound.  She wanted to give antibiotics for the sore on the scalp since it was infected but I convinced her to let us try a topical cream instead.  Hopefully we won’t need the oral antibiotic!

Once we finished, we went back to my mom’s house and I fed Daryoosh quickly since we had a little time before Yago’s gymnastics class.  The gymnastics class is also in the cool springs area like my house is, so again we headed south.

Yago had a great time at gymnastics and we headed back to my mom’s house.

For those of you counting, that’s three trips from the Moores Lane area to Granny white. Before noon.  Good thing my parents live pretty close!

Then at 3:45 Yago had an interview for school.  He did so well.  He listened to the teacher and did what she asked.  He picked out a puzzle to put together and put it back and then took out another puzzle.  He waited patiently as the teacher took her turn with a puzzle.  He explored the classroom and even got to try out the playground!  When asked if he would want to come back he said, “Ok!” He cried when it was time to pry him off of the playground equipment. I guess that’s a good sign.  That’s also part of the reason why I think he should start school in the summer. More play time outside will be good for him to get used to being sans Mom or Mot (his name for my mom) I hope.

So we’re going to do it.  Tues, Wed, Thurs for half-days to begin with.  The summer is mostly “play” and not much “work” so I think it will be a good time to start.  Here’s hoping that he doesn’t take too long to adjust.

To make it easier, I may have Santi drop him off…(ok, easier on me, anyway).

2 Comments

Filed under school, Yago

2 responses to “Crazy Day

  1. Leanne

    Wait! You can get ringworm from getting your haircut?

    yeah for Yago! I definately say to let Santi bring him there the first few days!

  2. Amy

    Congratulations! I’m so happy that he liked Montessori. I bet he’ll have a great time!

Leave a Reply

